I want to start my reflection off with saying that I thoroughly enjoyed the reading for this week. The reading helped me to see a different view of creative writing, and reading that will be very helpful with my future profession in education. The text was easy to navigate for myself because I was interested in the reading starting with the first paragraph. One of the major things that I noticed in the assigned reading is that the writer wrote to the appeal of the reader’s emotions firstly. The information given in the introduction and very first paragraph of the article pulled my attention to the reading with the approach of pathos. The writer had an emotional appeal with describing the background of the teenager who played a huge role throughout the entire article. Without knowing anything of the teenage boy’s background I would find it hard to successfully navigate through the article without having many questions. Though the writer used an emotional approach by describing the teenager boy’s backgrounds they also built the credibility of the paper by providing history and background of the idea of community literacy as a whole. A strategy that I used that helped me navigate through the article was that I put myself into the reading. I read and imagined myself as being a student who was interested in the CLC and had the background as the teenage boy, and I read the article a second time and imagined myself as a teacher and wanting to know more about the program to educate myself, to better educate my students.

The key component to writing a proposal argument is having a relevant solution to the problem. It does not matter how big or small the problem may be, if you have a feasible solution for the problem that you presented than you can write a good proposal argument. Something else that may be helpful in writing a proposal argument is writing about something that not only affects you. It is hard to write a proposal argument when you are the only person affected by the problem and benefiting from the proposal. Key elements in a proposal argument are identifying a problem, putting together a solution, researching and gathering reasoning behind your solution, and weighing out the negative and positive effects of a solution that you feel would be best. All of the strategies mentioned previously in the paragraph would tie into my group efforts in completing project four. My group has already began to narrow down a topic by identifying different things that we believe need reform and could benefit us, and others around us. In addition to picking different things that we would like to see something different with, we also talked about the severity of each topic to us. In casual conversation which was our initial approach for the project we talked about different solutions to the two topics we had narrowed down. We also talked about researching the various topics to see which on we could get the most information and research on, and that would be the topic that we would use. Ultimately we began to narrow down the problems we had, thought on which one was most important to the majority, and we would begin research on possibly solutions in the days to come.